Notary Certification Overview
If you’re interested in becoming a Notary in the state of Florida, it’s important to understand the necessary steps for you to receive your certification. Having to learn about the process can seem overwhelming and confusing in the beginning. Fortunately, The Florida Notary Association is here for you to provide the clarification and resources you need to become a Notary in the state of Florida.
- Check that you meet the requirements to become a Notary in Florida.
- Get a surety bond from a certified bonding agency.
- Take an approved education course. The state of Florida does offer a free course which is available for you online.
- Complete the application. During this process, you need someone who has known for more than a year to complete the Affidavit of Character section.
- If you’re a non-U.S. citizen, you will need to get a recorded Application of Domicile form from the county clerk’s office.
- Be prepared and willing to swear or affirm to the oath of office on the application.
- Sign the surety bond form.
- Follow the directions of your bonding agency to submit the application documents and fees.
- Order your Notary seal. You will have the option to order it from your bonding agency or another certified provider.
- Once your application is approved by the Department of State, you will receive your commission certificate from the bonding agency.
How Long Does a Florida Notary Commission Last?
A Florida Notary commission term is for four years.
How Much Does a Notary Certification Cost?
The Florida state application fee is $39. The prices can vary depending on factors such as education, surety bonds, Notary seals, and the provider you choose.
Don’t Delay Your Certification With These Mistakes
- The signature and printed name do not match.
- The “race” field is not completed.
- Your driver’s license information doesn’t have 12 digits.
- If your business address is listed but does not include the company name.
- The bond form or the signature on the form is missing.
- Your birth date does not match Florida state records.
- Related Content : 5 Common Mistakes That Can Lead To Legal Problems
Who Can Become a Notary?
As long as you meet the following requirements, you’re allowed to become a Notary in Florida.
- You are at least 18 years of age.
- You are a legal resident of Florida.
- You must have civil rights restored, if convicted of a felony.
- You can read, write, and comprehend the English language.
Is There Training Involved to Become a Notary?
Yes, as a first-time applicant, you will be required to take a three-hour course which is offered by the state or another vendor with a training program that has been approved by the Executive Office of the Governor.
This training course must be completed within one year to applying for a Notary commission. After that, you will receive your completion certificate and will then need to submit your application form. If you’re already a Notary trying to renew their commissions, then you’re not required to re-take the educational course.
What Is a Surety Bond and Why Do You Need One?
A surety bond is a legal bind to pay if you fail to honestly, and faithfully handle your responsibilities as a Notary. The surety bond ensures the Notary will follow in agreement with required Florida laws. A surety bond is not the same as when you get insurance because it doesn’t protect you as a Notary. It only protects the public. In Florida, the law requires you to get a $7,500 bond from a surety company that is authorized to do business in the state of Florida.